Southeastern States Winter 2010-2011

Winter Weather Discussion

Moderator: S2k Moderators

Forum rules

The posts in this forum are NOT official forecast and should not be used as such. They are just the opinion of the poster and may or may not be backed by sound meteorological data. They are NOT endorsed by any professional institution or STORM2K.

Help Support Storm2K
Cyclonosis
Tropical Wave
Tropical Wave

Southeastern States Winter 2010-2011

#1 Postby Cyclonosis » Sun Oct 17, 2010 8:51 pm

Hello all, I am brand new to this forum and I know you guys dont know me from Adam, but I am going to get straight to my winter forecast for the SE if you guys dont mind, because it is that time of year. Don't take this too serious because I am a amateur but here goes.

Unlike some Nina years, this one developed quick so Nina impacts should be felt by December. Therefore, the southeast ridge will be our enemy. However, we should be in a solidly -NAO by December, so the southern Appalachians could do very well early in the winter. A Ohio Valley-Apps runner storm track should be the norm although I wouldn't rule out a coastal runner or three during the times when the SE ridge breaks down and it will, so people in the deep south shouldn't completely give up hope for a snowstorm, but areas further south and east are going to be the main areas that the SE ridge will keep everything mostly warm and dry IMO. But for early winter I expect something simular to the current pattern with the ridge gradually building in and by Febuary it will be in full blowtorch mode. Now for the midsouth I fully expect some Severe wx and Ice storms this winter and areas that is notorious for CAD could see quite a bit of ice this winter.

Here is my winter forecast map and comments, critisism, and questions will be appreciated

Thanks