hypertext

If you don't read these, it's your own fault. They will be enforced by the staff. You will also find Management Announcements & S2K Gatherings here

Moderator: S2k Moderators

Message
Author
User avatar
chadtm80
Category 5
Category 5
Posts: 20392
Age: 40
Joined: Tue Oct 08, 2002 8:35 am
Location: East Central Florida
Contact:

hypertext

#1 Postby chadtm80 » Sun Feb 09, 2003 11:24 am

wanted to explain to everyone how to make hypertext here at storm2k.. its not like it is over at (you know where) you have to use the code down below :darrow:

Code: Select all

[url=http://www.storm2k.org]storm2k[/url]


further explanation:

Code: Select all

 [url=put_the_addy_you_want_linked_to_text]put_word_you_want_to_be_hypertext[/url]


Make sence? so using the code above you would get this storm2k

I know that isnt the easiest thing to do, but i will work on seeing if i can make it any easier some how :D

As always, comments welcomed
0 likes   

User avatar
Astro_man92
Category 5
Category 5
Posts: 1493
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2005 1:26 am
Contact:

#2 Postby Astro_man92 » Mon Aug 01, 2005 5:24 pm

Thank you this is really helpfull and really cool!! I was wondering what that URL button did. Once again that you for defining how to do this. I bookmarked this bpage just incase I forget. lol
0 likes   

User avatar
tropical
Tropical Depression
Tropical Depression
Posts: 74
Joined: Mon Sep 15, 2003 5:35 am
Location: Pompano Beach, Florida
Contact:

#3 Postby tropical » Tue Aug 02, 2005 10:09 am

Thank you for posting this thread, chadtm80. I'm sure this will help with long URLs that disrupt the screen layout and force horizontal scrolling.

When I make a text link, I use the following simple steps:

1. Type the word or phrase to be a link.

2. Drag the mouse cursor over it so that it is highlighted.

3. Click on the URL button above the message composition window. This will nest (or surround) the highlighted text with the URL tags. It should look like this: [url]sample text link[/url]

4. Click inside the first [url] tag just before the closing bracket (between the L and ] and enter an equal sign, like this: [url=]sample text link[/url]

5. After the equal sign (and before the closing bracket), type in or paste the internet address to link to, being careful to avoid spaces.


That's it!


The end result in the message box should look like this:

[url=http://www.storm2k.org]sample text link[/url]

which results in this in the post body:

sample text link


If you'd rather link an image instead of text, it works the same way. To make an image link, simply follow the same steps, highlighting the image code instead of typed text. So this:

[url=http://www.nhc.noaa.gov][img]http://www.nhc.noaa.gov/gifs/noaaleft.jpg[/img][/url]

Will result in this:

Image

Hope this helps.
0 likes   

User avatar
cycloneye
Storm2k Moderator
Storm2k Moderator
Posts: 121659
Age: 64
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2002 10:54 am
Location: San Juan, Puerto Rico

#4 Postby cycloneye » Tue Aug 02, 2005 6:02 pm

http://www.nrlmry.navy.mil/sat-bin/disp ... C_SCALE=15

What about this superlong link of sat pic? How do I cut that?
0 likes   
Visit the Caribbean-Central America Weather Thread where you can find at first post web cams,radars
and observations from Caribbean basin members Click Here

User avatar
senorpepr
Military Met/Moderator
Military Met/Moderator
Posts: 12539
Age: 38
Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2003 9:22 pm
Location: Fairview Heights, IL
Contact:

#5 Postby senorpepr » Tue Aug 02, 2005 6:28 pm

cycloneye wrote:What about this superlong link of sat pic? How do I cut that?


Try this:

SAL Imagery


Code: Select all

[url=http://www.nrlmry.navy.mil/sat-bin/display10.cgi?SIZE=full&PHOT=yes&AREA=mediterranean/sahara&PROD=ir&TYPE=ssmi&NAV=tropics&DISPLAY=Latest&ARCHIVE=Latest&CGI=tropics.cgi&CURRENT=20050724.2115.msg1.ir.x.sahara_dust.x.jpg&MOSAIC_SCALE=15]SAL[/url]
0 likes   

User avatar
wxmann_91
Category 5
Category 5
Posts: 8034
Age: 29
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 2:49 pm
Location: Southern California
Contact:

#6 Postby wxmann_91 » Tue Aug 02, 2005 9:20 pm

Instead of using BBCode, couldn't we just use HTML?

like <a href="http://www.blahblahblah.com">blahblah</a>
0 likes   

User avatar
tropical
Tropical Depression
Tropical Depression
Posts: 74
Joined: Mon Sep 15, 2003 5:35 am
Location: Pompano Beach, Florida
Contact:

#7 Postby tropical » Tue Aug 02, 2005 10:03 pm

cycloneye wrote:What about this superlong link of sat pic? How do I cut that?

You would simply copy it and paste it into the URL tag as described in the posts above.

And note how using such a long URL like that disrupts the layout of the entire page. All it takes is one such link to force everyone to scroll back and forth horizontally, as you have to do to read this. :wink:


wxmann_91 wrote:Instead of using BBCode, couldn't we just use HTML?

Yes and no... it's up to the board Admin to allow specific HTML tags. From the phpBB User Guide:

Allowed HTML tags - If HTML is enabled, you may specify which tags may be used. This will help prevent users from destroying your page layout with dangerous HTML...

Some HTML can be used to disrupt the board, either deliberately or accidentally, so by default the phpBB settings limit which HTML tags are allowed. While the Admin can change this, it's not suggested except for known innocuous tags. Generally speaking, it's unnecessary; you can do most of what you need to with the existing permitted codes.

The only allowed HTML tag I ever use is the <IMG> tag, which I sometimes (although rarely) use to resize an image inline, like this (with the same image as posted above):

<img src=http://www.nhc.noaa.gov/gifs/noaaleft.jpg width=120>

<img src=http://www.nhc.noaa.gov/gifs/noaaleft.jpg width=120>
0 likes   

GalvestonDuck
Category 5
Category 5
Posts: 15923
Joined: Fri Oct 11, 2002 8:11 am
Location: Galveston, oh Galveston (And yeah, it's a barrier island. Wanna make something of it?)
Contact:

#8 Postby GalvestonDuck » Tue Aug 02, 2005 10:35 pm

Image link -- WAY COOL! Thanks, Tropical!!

Ya learn something new every day.... :)
0 likes   

User avatar
wxmann_91
Category 5
Category 5
Posts: 8034
Age: 29
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 2:49 pm
Location: Southern California
Contact:

#9 Postby wxmann_91 » Tue Aug 02, 2005 11:02 pm

Thanks Tropical for the info! :D
0 likes   

User avatar
cycloneye
Storm2k Moderator
Storm2k Moderator
Posts: 121659
Age: 64
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2002 10:54 am
Location: San Juan, Puerto Rico

#10 Postby cycloneye » Wed Aug 03, 2005 7:07 am

Sat imagery

Thanks Tropical and Mike. :)
0 likes   
Visit the Caribbean-Central America Weather Thread where you can find at first post web cams,radars
and observations from Caribbean basin members Click Here

User avatar
tropical
Tropical Depression
Tropical Depression
Posts: 74
Joined: Mon Sep 15, 2003 5:35 am
Location: Pompano Beach, Florida
Contact:

#11 Postby tropical » Wed Aug 03, 2005 9:25 am

My pleasure!

I'm glad I could be of some help.
0 likes   

User avatar
southerngale
Storm2k Executive
Storm2k Executive
Posts: 27428
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2002 1:27 am
Location: Southeast Texas (Beaumont area)

#12 Postby southerngale » Wed Aug 03, 2005 1:57 pm

Image
0 likes   

User avatar
southerngale
Storm2k Executive
Storm2k Executive
Posts: 27428
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2002 1:27 am
Location: Southeast Texas (Beaumont area)

#13 Postby southerngale » Wed Aug 03, 2005 2:03 pm

Ooh, I did it! Click my buoy above. Thanks tropical. Image
0 likes   

User avatar
TexasStooge
Category 5
Category 5
Posts: 38127
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2003 1:22 pm
Location: Irving (Dallas County), TX
Contact:

#14 Postby TexasStooge » Thu Jan 05, 2006 5:29 pm

wxmann_91 wrote:Instead of using BBCode, couldn't we just use HTML?

like <a href="http://www.blahblahblah.com">blahblah</a>


Cause they're disabled until further notice.
0 likes   
Weather Enthusiast since 1991.
- Facebook
- Twitter

User avatar
wxmann_91
Category 5
Category 5
Posts: 8034
Age: 29
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 2:49 pm
Location: Southern California
Contact:

#15 Postby wxmann_91 » Tue Jan 10, 2006 9:24 pm

Wow, good bump Stooge.

Why are now all the codes from Imageshack (the thumbnails) faulty? (I know this is the only forum that it would be faulty, since I've tried it elsewhere) This was a problem even before the hack.
0 likes   


Return to “Storm2K Rules & Announcements”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests