Tips for calling 911 with a cell phone

Chat about anything and everything... (well almost anything) Whether it be the front porch or the pot belly stove or news of interest or a topic of your liking, this is the place to post it.

Moderator: S2k Moderators

Jelff
Tropical Depression
Tropical Depression

Tips for calling 911 with a cell phone

#1 Postby Jelff » Sat Sep 02, 2017 5:09 pm

I am a software developer in the field of online maps and fairly new to this forum. Any maps or other work that I post about here at storm2k are a public service and part of my way to “pay it forward”. They are not part of any commercial endeavor.

Last year I became interested in what happens when someone with a cell phone calls 911. In particular I wanted to know the details of how the 911 dispatcher learns the *location* of the caller. What kind of digital magic was happening behind the scenes?

On one hand I learned that the FCC requires a wireless carrier handling a 911 call to produce coordinates for the caller’s location. Sounds good, right? On the other hand I learned that some carriers have exempted themselves from this requirement over large portions of the area they serve. I also learned that the coordinate accuracy most of us easily get on our smartphones is often 10 times more accurate - or more - than the coordinates produced by the wireless carrier handling a 911 call.

Keep in mind that there are over 6,000 911 call centers. Problems related to getting an accurate location for wireless callers will vary among all those call centers. Some call centers will rarely have a problem getting an accurate location for wireless callers while at other call centers this problem will occur more frequently

I boiled down what I learned and put it into an easy-to-read report which I am hosting on my server as a pdf file. That report consists of:
1. A list of tips for calling 911 with a cell phone.
2. Background information so you understand the big picture.