Need help-- I'm a college student who needs to eat healthier

This is where our members can post about their hearth and home, whether it be Holiday traditions, recipes, gardening, virtually anything to do with hearth and home.

Moderator: S2k Moderators

somethingfunny
ChatStaff
ChatStaff

Need help-- I'm a college student who needs to eat healthier

#1 Postby somethingfunny » Sat Oct 11, 2008 3:27 am

On $100/month.

Yes, this is the food budget I'm aiming for. Now that I have my own apartment, I can buy groceries without worrying about my roommates eating them all before I get home from work. I work for Pizza Hut, so my diet currently consists of Personal Pan Pizzas and Dollar Menu fast food items. I realize this is resulting in malnutrition and weight gain....the other day I actually got a mean craving for vegetables and ended up buying a V8 at the school cafeteria. When your body's craving celery, you know you're not getting enough vitamins....

Typically when I go grocery shopping I buy things like $3 bags of 10 frozen burritos or $1 frozen Totino's Pizzas. I buy alot of Carl Buddig's Lunch Meat and cheap bread....big bags of Frosted Flakes and Wal-Mart brand Milk at $3/gallon...(finally, gas is cheaper!) I eat alot of hot dogs, macaroni and cheese, and Ramen Noodles. As far as produce goes I'll get tomatoes to slice up with sandwiches, and bananas for breakfast....and other than that it generally seems too expensive for me. I know I've been able to survive on $100 worth of groceries in a given month, but I also know that I need to start eating healthier, so I can probably afford to go up to $150/month.

Please help me out....does anybody have any suggestions for the next time I go grocery shopping? Cost-efficient ways to get nutritious food...maybe some good easy recipies you've used yourself in college? Any help will be wonderful and very much appreciated!
0 likes   

Miss Mary

#2 Postby Miss Mary » Sat Oct 11, 2008 8:18 am