Let's discuss ACE as a metric

This is the general tropical discussion area. Anyone can take their shot at predicting a storms path.

Moderator: S2k Moderators

Forum rules

The posts in this forum are NOT official forecasts and should not be used as such. They are just the opinion of the poster and may or may not be backed by sound meteorological data. They are NOT endorsed by any professional institution or STORM2K. For official information, please refer to products from the National Hurricane Center and National Weather Service.

Help Support Storm2K
Nuno
Category 2
Category 2

Let's discuss ACE as a metric

#1 Postby Nuno » Thu Sep 10, 2020 5:09 pm

I'm new to S2k generally, but I've frequented weather communities elsewhere over the last twenty years and I find that ACE has really come into popularity in amateur circles in recent years as a useful metric.

But I'm seeing a lot of debates pop up in other threads and perhaps a standalone thread to discuss the metric itself could yield an interesting discussion. I personally have a few issues with ACE being thrown around so frequently:

1) Much like the Saffir Simpson scale, it seems as if ACE itself is often incorrectly used compared to its original intention. It was created by Bill Gray and was part of his Hurricane Destruction Potential index, not as a measurement to describe seasonal activity or inactivity as it often is used now.

2) If ACE as a metric describes cyclonic energy, are there other metrics used to measure other kinds of energy in the atmosphere that are calculated in a similar fashion? Is such a metric even possible given atmospheric fluidity? Why not measure mid-lattitude storms? Or the energy accumulated by a typical rainstorm?